ALABC elects executive board, new technical programme to be approved in September

For the record ALABC member companies gathered in May in San Antonio, Texas, at the first meeting of the Advanced Lead Acid Battery Consortium’s general assembly to discuss preparations for the 2016-2018 programme. It also elected a new executive body for programme oversight.

The new executive committee consists of: Lee Puckett of Atomized Products Group, Peiliang She of China Shoto/Shuangdeng Group, Tammy Stankey of Doe Run, Bob Flicker of East Penn Manufacturing, Norbert Maleschitz of Exide Technologies, Terry Murphy of Hammond Group, Andreas Sieverdingbeck of Recylex, Tim Ellis of RSR, and Paul Kolisnyk of Teck Metals.

“The research that ALABC supports enables incredible innovation in the lead-based battery market,” said Stankey. “The executive committee is charged with providing oversight to the research programs and helping to transfer research results to the marketplace.

“I am confident that together, as an organization and committee, we will be able to advance the effectiveness and market applications of lead-based batteries.”

Tim Ellis was also elected ALABC chairman for a second two year term.

The meeting included discussions regarding the review and prioritization of 20 new research proposals for the 2016-2018 programme, as well as 11 proposals validated from the earlier 2013-2015 program.