EnerSys’ John Craig to retire in the spring, Shaffer to take over

EnerSys has confirmed that John Craig, chief executive officer will retire on March 31, 2016. David Shaffer has been named president, chief executive officer and chief operating officer effective the day after. Shaffer will become a member of the board of directors that day. The retirement and promotion of Shaffer had been widely expected.

Craig joined the company’s predecessor in 1994 and became chairman, president and chief executive in 2000 when he led the management buyout of the company forming EnerSys. Since that time the company’s revenue has grown from $400 million to $2.5 billion while completing 33 acquisitions.

Craig will continue as non-executive chairman of the board of directors of EnerSys following his retirement.

Shaffer joined EnerSys in 2005 and since November 2014 has worked as president and chief operating officer. Before that he worked as president of the company’s Europe, Middle East & Africa (EMEA) business and as president of Asia before that.

He has held positions with increasing responsibility in the battery industry since 1989.

Meanwhile, Richard Zuidema, executive vice president of the company, will retire at the end of the year. Todd Sechrist, president EMEA, will take over from him.

Zuidema joined the company’s predecessor in 1998 and was a member of the group that completed the 2000 management buyout.

Sechrist joined EnerSys’ predecessor company in 1993 and has held several positions with increasing responsibilities with the company. Holger Aschke, vice president Reserve Power sales and marketing for EMEA, takes over from Sechrist as president EMEA. Aschke joined a predecessor company in 1996 and has held a wide range of operational and sales roles in the company’s EMEA business.

From the beginning of the year Michael Schmidtlein becomes executive vice president finance and chief financial officer. Schmidtlein has worked as senior vice president finance and chief financial officer since 2010, having previously been vice president finance and chief financial officer.